Oceanside Library

 
ONLINE DATABASES & RESOURCES

The Library is currently open for browsing and borrowing by appointment only.  Please click here for further information.

As an Oceanside Library cardholder, you have the ability to search many of our on-line databases from home.  Please have your library card available; you must enter your 14-digit library card number to access many of these databases.  If you experience any problems with a link, please let one of our librarians know by calling (516) 766-2360, option 5 or send us an email.

*Click here for an alphabetical list of databases.  Scroll down to access all available resources.

For tips on how to search in databases, click here


BIOGRAPHY
Gale eBooks - In Library -- At Home
A Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Includes American Men & Women of Science, Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography, and Encyclopedia of World Biography.

Gale In Context: Biography - In Library -- At Home
Integrates award-winning biographies from Gale sources with related full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers, as well as tens of thousands of images and links to vetted websites.  Search for people -- both current and historic from all eras and fields of endeavor -- based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as keyword and full text.  Or, combine search criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search.  Includes access to The Complete Marquis Who's Who.

Return to top.

BUSINESS & FINANCE
ABI/INFORM Complete - In Library -- At Home
Explore over 40 million company records, full text of hundreds of journals, current and historical expert market information, and over 30,000 business related dissertations.  All this is available on the intuitive and powerful ProQuest platform. This allows cross-searching with other ProQuest business resources as well as creation of RSS feeds, content alerts, Smart Search, article linking, and much more.  Includes access to ABI/INFORM Dateline and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry.

Business Insights: Essentials - In Library -- At Home
This database provides company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.

Gale eBooks
- In Library -- At Home
A Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.  Includes Business Plans Handbook, The Cost of College, Earning, Saving, and Investing, Economy 101, Making Smart Money Choices, Managing Debt,  and Protecting Financial Data.

Gale OneFile: Computer Science - In Library -- At Home
Provides access to business and technical publications in the computer, electronics, and telecommunications industries.


Morningstar
- In Library -- At Home

A one-stop shop for investment learning. Whether you're looking for direction when using the site, tips for choosing funds for stocks, or the definition of an investment term, you'll find it all here.

Nuwav Legal Documents - In Library -- At Home
This database offers a variety of different legal documents and forms for Estate Planning, Real Estate, Business, Civil or Family Matters, Personal Finance, the Courts and more.  Browse for the form that you need, fill one out, and print it or save it to your computer.  Some documents are ready to go once they have been filled out and signed, some document require a witness, while others might require a notary stamp.


Reference Solutions (formerly Reference USA)
- In Library -- At Home

Reference Solutions contains US Business Data and US Residential directory information.  Business Data contains detailed directory information for 14 million+ U.S. Public and Private businesses.  Residential Data contains names, addresses, and phone numbers for 200 million+ U.S. households.  NOTE: If you are having difficulty accessing this database from home, please refer to the Reference Solutions help page for suggestions on how to correct the problem.

Return to top.

CAREERS, EMPLOYMENT & JOB SEARCHING
Career Cruising - In Library -- At Home
This database offers resources for those looking for career information.  You can learn about colleges and universities and the programs they offer, explore different careers that you are interested in, or take an interactive survey to help find careers that match your interests.  You can even set up a portfolio allowing you to save any information that you are working on so you can return to it at another time.

JobNow - In Library -- At Home
This database offers you resume and cover letter assistance with trained writing experts as well as live interview coaching to help you brush up on your technique or practice for an upcoming interview.  Career assessments can help you discover your best career fit based upon education, experience, and personality.  There is also an Adult Learning Center with access to test preparation (including the GED, TASC & U.S. Citizenship Tests), Microsoft Office help, an expert writing lab, an academic skills center featuring live online tutors, and other additional study tools.

Learning Express Library - In Library -- At Home
Provides courses and eBooks on job searching, resumes and cover letters, interviewing, and networking skills.  Take instantly scored Civil Service, licensing, certification, and aptitude practice tests and watch tutorials on popular software programs including Microsoft Word, Excel, Outlook, PowerPoint, and Access.  To gain access to the LearningExpressLibrary.com's test preparation materials you will need to register.  (Click on "NEW USER" if you are a first time visitor.)  When accessed from home, your username must be your 14-digit library card number. 
NOTE: Learning Express Library has upgraded their platform with new skill-building tutorials, test preparation, and career advancement resources with new educational content, career guidance, and advice from industry experts.


Tutor.com Adult Education And Career Center - In Library -- At Home
Live help is available from real tutors daily from 2pm - 10pm (some holidays excluded). Users can receive assistance with careers, job searches, writing résumés and cover letters. Help with citizenship exams, school subjects from GED prep to introductory college courses is also available. SkillsCenter Resource Library is open 24/7. In English and Spanish.

PLEASE NOTE: THE FOLLOWING SITES ARE NOT SUBSCRIPTION DATABASES
General Career Sites

Ask the Headhunter
Best Jobs U.S.A.
Job and resume databases, plus other resources, tools and information.
Career Builder Career advice, plus job-search listings from more than 60 participating newspapers.
Career OneStop Sponsored by the US Dept. of Labor.
Hempstead Works: Job Seekers Walk-in "One Stop" career center.
Internet Career Connection Discover a career direction that best matches your personality style.
New York State Department of Labor
O*Net Resource Center
Occupational Outlook Handbook
What workers do on the job, training & educational needs, working conditions, earnings, and expected prospects in a wide range of occupations.
Riley Guide Links to job resources on the Internet.
Study.com Education Portal Articles, reviews, and videos on career paths, job hunting, trade schools, and degree programs.
Vault

Job Listings & Resume Posting Sites

CareerBuilder.com Search for jobs by industry, salary, location; post your resume free.
Dice.com
Glass Door
Indeed
Search engine for job listings.
Job.com
Job Bank USA
Job-Hunt New York
Jobs.com
Juju
Search engine for job listings.
LinkedIn Jobs 
LiveCareer Job Listings
Monster.com
Nation Job Network
The New York Job Source
Quintessential Careers
Simply Hired
Search engine for job listings.
Trabajos en Español.
Vault

Government and Civil Service Jobs
Long Beach Civil Service and Benefits Office
Nassau County Civil Service Commission
New York City Civil Service
New York State Department of Civil Service
Suffolk County Civil Service Commission

Unemployment Benefits
NY Unemployment Insurance Benefits Online
US Dept. of Labor Unemployment Insurance Information

Resume and Cover Letter Preparation
The Damn Good Resume
eResumes and Resume Writing Services
Free Resume Templates (Hloom.com)
JobStar Central
Resume and cover letter assistance, compiled by public libraries in Northern California.
LiveCareer
Perdue Online Writing Lab
Pongo Resume Builder

Classified Job Ads
New York Daily News Jobs
New York Times Job Ads
Newsday Classifieds
NonProfit Times

Specialized Job Listings

Best Nursing Degree
ComputerWork.com
Disabled, on Social Security (Ticket To Work)
Engineering
Idealist.org
Non-profit organization jobs.
Latin America's Professional Network Experienced Spanish and Portuguese bilingual professionals.
LawJobs.com
MarketingJobs.com

Snag-A-Job Hourly employment.
SocialService.com
Teach New York
NYC Dept. of Education.
Union Jobs Clearinghouse


Return to top.

CHILDREN & TEENS
Britannica School - In Library -- At Home
A source for all grades (Pre-K-12) and all reading abilities. Available at three levels--elementary, middle, and high.

Explora For Public Libraries - In Library -- At Home

Ensure student and educator success with EBSCO’s new interface for schools and public libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality.

Gale In Context: Elementary - In Library -- At Home
This database is designed for students in K-5.  It features a developmentally appropriate graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text age appropriate curriculum-related magazine and reference content.

Gale In Context: Middle School - In Library -- At Home
Created specifically for middle school students, this database combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Categories cover a range of the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, U.S. and world history, literature, and many more. This database also provides engaging reference, periodical, and multimedia content supporting national and state curriculum standards for grades 6 to 12 in language arts, social studies, and science. Middle school students will benefit from an interface that delivers a combination of the highly visual design and navigation preferred by younger users as well as the authoritative content and user-focused tool set needed to support middle school assignments and coursework.

New York State DMV Permit Test - In Library -- At Home
Use this site to take a free online New York State DMV Permit Test practice exam.

Sesame Street eBooks - In Library -- At Home
Offers 150+ Sesame Street eBooks, Audio eBooks, interactive eBooks, and animated eBooks.

Student Resources In Context
- In Library -- At Home
This database contains thousands of curriculum-targeted primary documents, biographies, topical essays, background information, critical analyses, full-text coverage of 680+ magazines, newspapers, 20,000+ photographs and illustrations, and hours of audio and video clips.


TumbleBooks
- In Library -- At Home

TumbleBooks are created by taking existing picture books, adding animation, sound, music and narration to produce an electronic picture book which you can read, or have read to you.  You can access TumbleBooks from the library or from home.

All you need is the Flash plug-in for your browser and a computer set up for sound and speakers. If you find that you are unable to view the TumbleBooks at home, you may need to download the FREE plug-in for Flash animations at www.macromedia.com/downloads.

Tutor.com Adult Education And Career Center - In Library -- At Home
Live help is available from real tutors daily from 2pm - 10pm (some holidays excluded). Users can receive assistance with careers, job searches, writing résumés and cover letters. Help with citizenship exams, school subjects from GED prep to introductory college courses is also available. SkillsCenter Resource Library is open 24/7. In English and Spanish.

Return to top.


CONSUMER INFORMATION
ConsumerReports.org - In Library -- At Home
Features Ratings and recommendations on thousands of products and services in categories including appliances, cars, electronics and computers, home and garden, health and fitness, babies and kids, food, personal finance, and travel.

Gale OneFile: Home Improvement - In Library -- At Home
Offers information on plumbing, decorating, maintenance, remodeling, woodworking, outdoor & indoor projects as well as How-To videos, conversion charts and tips on how to work with contractors.

GreenFILE
- In Library -- At Home
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

Nuwav Legal Documents - In Library -- At Home
This database offers a variety of different legal documents and forms for Estate Planning, Real Estate, Business, Civil or Family Matters, Personal Finance, the Courts and more.  Browse for the form that you need, fill one out, and print it or save it to your computer.  Some documents are ready to go once they have been filled out and signed, some document require a witness, while others might require a notary stamp.


Return to top.


CURRENT EVENTS, ISSUES & STATISTICS
2-1-1 Long Island - In Library -- At Home
This computerized directory profiles more than 11,000 community services and resources available in the Long Island area. It provides individuals and organizations with easy access to current information about health, human service and education agencies and programs.


American Factfinder - In Library -- At Home
Provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island Areas.  The data comes from several censuses and surveys.  All historical and current data will be ported over to the United States Census Bureau by early 2020.

Bureau Of Labor Statistics - In Library -- At Home
The principal fact-finding agency for the federal government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.  The BLS is an independent national statistical agency that collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential statistical data to the American public, the U.S. Congress, other federal agencies, state and local governments, business, and labor. The BLS also serves as a statistical resource to the Department of Labor.

Explora For General Research - In Library -- At Home
Designed for the public library patron in mind. The 5,600 Topic Overviews in here as well as the categories, address common public library inquiries about personal finance, do-it-yourself, health, etc.

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints - In Library -- At Home
Brings together all the information that’s needed to fully understand an issue: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, and links to hand-selected web sites.

Issues And Controversies In History - In Library -- At Home
Issues & Controversies in History places students at the center of the great debates and conflicts in U.S. and world history, exploring the issues as the key players saw them, or, in some cases, as historians have interpreted them. Formerly known as Issues & Controversies in American History, this database covers every region of the world from antiquity to the present and provides balanced coverage of a broad range of topics, from slavery, empire, and revolution to race, gender, economy, and disease.

Niche Academy - In Library -- At Home
This database offers a number of video tutorials for various online resources.  Tutorials include Microsoft Excel, EBSCOhost, Facebook, Twitter, GMail, OverDrive, Tutor.com as well as more.


United States Census Bureau - In Library -- At Home
The leading source for quality data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau about the nation's people and economy.

Return to top.


DIGITAL MEDIA
Hoopla Digital - In Library -- At Home
Hoopla Digital is a new library service where Oceanside Library cardholders (over 18 years of age) can borrow then stream or download audiobooks, movies, TV shows, music, eBooks, comics and graphic novels.
Hoopla Digital works with Roku, Apple TV, Amazon Fire TV, Google Chromecast, Android and Amazon Alexa (smart speaker).  There is a Hoopla Digital app available for iOS, Android, and Kindle Fire plus you can access Hoopla Digital on your computer at hoopladigital.com.  For any specific device related questions, please check out Hoopla Digital's Online Support page.  Or check out some Hoopla Digital  YouTube tutorials.
Click here if you would like more information.


Nassau Digital Doorway (via OverDrive) - In Library -- At Home
This free collection of downloadable media includes both eBooks and audiobooks which can be used with a full variety of digital devices.  Depending on your device, you have the ability to view Adobe ePub, PDF eBooks, or Amazon eBooks for Kindle as well as listen to OverDrive MP3 audiobooks.  Or try Libby, OverDrive's app for downloadable titles.
Links for the OverDrive App:
Apple App Store
Google Play
Amazon Appstore
Additional app links found here.
Click here if you would like more information.

NextReads - In Library -- At Home
An online offering that allows patrons to subscribe to eNewsletters designed to assist readers in finding new authors and titles in a variety of genres.  Lists include Fiction A To Z, Romance, Tween Reads, and Biography And Memoir among others.  Click here if you would like more information.


rbDigital - In Library -- At Home
A digital library newsstand, offering access to over 3,000 full-color, interactive digital magazines.  You can browse the library's collection of popular titles by visiting the site.  Each issue is offered with no holds, no checkout periods, and no limit to the number of issues you can download.
Links for the RBdigital App:
Apple App Store

Google Play
Amazon Appstore (for Kindle Fire)

Click here if you would like more information.

Return to top.


EDUCATION
Career Cruising
- In Library -- At Home
This database offers resources for those looking for career information.  You can learn about colleges and universities and the programs they offer, explore different careers that you are interested in, or take an interactive survey to help find careers that match your interests.  You can even set up a portfolio allowing you to save any information that you are working on so you can return to it at another time.

Education Reference Desk
- In Library -- At Home
Provides access to resources including links to 3,000+ resources on educational issues as well as 2,000+ lesson plans.  This database also includes a collection of 200+ responses to questions on education and links to the ERIC database.

ERIC - In Library -- At Home
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, this database provides extensive access to education-related literature.  ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books, and monographs.

Explora Educator's Edition - In Library -- At Home
Focuses on the needs of teachers and librarians. Offers professional development resources, lesson plans, research guides, and curriculum standards. Teacher Reference Center is a complimentary database available on this interface.

Gale eBooks - In Library -- At Home
A Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.  Includes Career Information Center, The College Blue Book and The Cost of College.


Gale OneFile: Computer Science - In Library -- At Home
Provides access to business and technical publications in the computer, electronics, and telecommunications industries.

Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete - In Library -- At Home
This collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator--from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Educator's Reference Complete seeks to provide full text for titles in the Eric database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty--such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.

New York State DMV Permit Test - In Library -- At Home
Use this site to take a free online New York State DMV Permit Test practice exam.

Niche Academy - In Library -- At Home
This database offers a number of video tutorials for various online resources.  Tutorials include Microsoft Excel, EBSCOhost, Facebook, Twitter, GMail, OverDrive, Tutor.com as well as more.


Teacher Reference Center - In Library -- At Home
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Tutor.com Adult Education And Career Center - In Library -- At Home
Live help is available from real tutors daily from 2pm - 10pm (some holidays excluded). Users can receive assistance with careers, job searches, writing résumés and cover letters. Help with citizenship exams, school subjects from GED prep to introductory college courses is also available. SkillsCenter Resource Library is open 24/7. In English and Spanish.

Return to top.


ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Britannica Academic Edition - In Library -- At Home
Includes Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools.

Britannica Escolar - In Library -- At Home
Discover the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. New features make it more valuable than ever for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.

Britannica Escolar Primaria - In Library -- At Home
Discover the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. New features make it more valuable than ever for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.

Britannica School - In Library -- At Home
A source for all grades (Pre-K-12) and all reading abilities. Available at three levels--elementary, middle, and high.



Return to top.


GENEALOGY
Ancestry Library Edition
- In Library -- At Home
With great thanks to ProQuest, they have offered remote access for Oceanside residents through December 31, 2020.  Please use the "At Home" link for access to original U.S. Census Records, the Social Security Death Index, and the UK Census Collection.

Ancestry.com New York State Records (via NY State)
- In Library -- At Home
Portions of Ancestry.com pertaining to New York State records for genealogy research are now available for use in the library or remotely for free to NY State residents.  When you click on the link, you will be asked to provide your zip code. 
For free access to New York records, start your search then click on your results. You will be prompted to "Create a Free Account." DO NOT click on the "Subscribe" button or the "14-day Free Trial Offer" unless you are interested in access to all of Ancestry.  Find record collections held by New York repositories and made available for free to New Yorkers through the Ancestry.com / New York partnership.  Available data collections are listed on Ancestry.com on the initial search page.

HeritageQuest -
In Library -- At Home

This database provides genealogical information. Includes available U.S. federal census, banking and military records, genealogies, local histories, primary source materials, and genealogical and local history serials.

Return to top.


HEALTH
ABMS (American Board of Medical Specialties) Directory - In Library -- At Home
This database provides the ability to search for physicians electronically, based on a combination of criteria, including name, board certified specialty, city or state, specific geographic locations, etc.
  You can also find out whether or not your doctor is board certified, and in what subspecialty as well as information about the physician’s training, hospital and academic appointments, type of practice, professional memberships, office contact information, etc (when available).

Gale eBooks
- In Library -- At Home
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.  Includes Breast Cancer Sourcebook, The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders, and The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health.

Gale OneFile: Health And Medicine - In Library -- At Home
Multi-source database providing access to full-text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources that offer reliable health information to researchers, including nursing and allied health students. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

Medline Plus - In Library -- At Home
MEDLINE Plus offers current and accurate health care information from the National Library of Medicine at the National Institutes of Health.

ProQuest Coronavirus Research Database - In Library -- At Home
ProQuest built this database in response to the rapidly growing need for authoritative content related to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). The company is working together with institutions all over the world to offer support as they navigate through the coronavirus pandemic. This launch of the Coronavirus Research Database is the latest in a series of programs to help librarians, faculty and students.

Salem Health
- In Library -- At Home
Offers access to the full text of the reference work Salem Health: Cancer which contains over 900 essays on all aspects of cancer for all nonspecialist interest groups.

Return to top.


HISTORY & CULTURE
**AtoZ Food America - In Library -- At Home
From regional cookbooks to an exploration of ethnic culinary influences, from fun collections of historic cookbooks and television commercials to “how to” food preparation videos, AtoZ Food America has something sure to educate and entertain everyone.  Thank you to World Trade Press for a temporary subscription.

**AtoZ Maps Online - In Library -- At Home
Approximately 145,000 maps at your fingertips.  Thank you to World Trade Press for a temporary subscription.

**AtoZ World Food - In Library -- At Home
AtoZ World Food is a food culture and traditional recipes database for 174 countries.  Thank you to World Trade Press for a temporary subscription.

**AtoZ World Travel - In Library -- At Home
AtoZ World Travel consists of 202 city travel guides, featuring in-depth information on attractions, neighborhoods, excursions, dining tips, language, insider tips, transportation, and much more!  Thank you to World Trade Press for a complimentary subscription through 7/31/20.  Thank you to World Trade Press for a temporary subscription.

Gale In Context: U.S. History - In Library -- At Home
This database is the premier online resource providing a complete overview of America’s past and covers the most studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people. this database also brings a personal perspective to history with thousands of rare and vital primary source documents along with full-text newspapers and periodicals, and videos and audio files from respected sources such as The New York Times, National Geographic, and NPR.

Gale
eBooks - In Library -- At Home
A Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.  Includes American Civil War Reference Library, American Revolution Reference Library, Americans At War, Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World, Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear through the Ages, French and Indian War, Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History, Harlem Renaissance, History Behind The Headlines: The Origins of Conflicts Worldwide, Mexican-American War, New Encyclopedia of Africa, Renaissance: An Encyclopedia for Students, War of 1812, and Witchcraft In America.

Gale In Context: World History - In Library -- At Home
This database is the premier online resource that reaches back to the ancient world – and forward to today’s headlines – to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures that have shaped the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable references and multimedia content put this vast topic into context for students and researchers.

**
Global Road Warrior - In Library -- At Home
Covers 175 countries and addresses 22 categories of interest to travelers.  Thank you to World Trade Press for a temporary subscription.

Issues And Controversies In History - In Library -- At Home
Issues & Controversies in History places students at the center of the great debates and conflicts in U.S. and world history, exploring the issues as the key players saw them, or, in some cases, as historians have interpreted them. Formerly known as Issues & Controversies in American History, this database covers every region of the world from antiquity to the present and provides balanced coverage of a broad range of topics, from slavery, empire, and revolution to race, gender, economy, and disease.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers - The New York Times - In Library -- At Home
This database offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Covers the years 1851-2013.  Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers - Newsday - In Library -- At Home
This database offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Covers the years 1940-1985.  Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Salem History
- In Library -- At Home
Offers access to the Salem reference set: Milestone Documents In American History, a primary source series featuring 134 full-text primary source documents with expert analysis and commentary.  Other titles available include Civil Disobedience, Social Justice, Nationalism & Populism, Violent Demonstrations and Race Relations, Treaties In The News, Nations Of The World 2017, Opinions Throughout History - Social Media Issues, and The Value Of A Dollar, Colonial Era.

Return to top.

LANGUAGE
Pronunciator - In Library -- At Home
With Pronunciator,
you can learn 80 languages with self-directed lessons, live teachers, movies, music, and more in any of 50 languages, for a total of 4,000 available course combinations. Plus, ESL for 50 non-English languages.

Return to top.


LAW
Gale eBooks
- In Library -- At Home
A Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.  Includes Major Acts of Congress.

Martindale-Hubbell Lawyer Directory - In Library -- At Home
Provides access to 900,000+ lawyer and law firm listings.

Nuwav Legal Documents - In Library -- At Home
This database offers a variety of different legal documents and forms for Estate Planning, Real Estate, Business, Civil or Family Matters, Personal Finance, the Courts and more.  Browse for the form that you need, fill one out, and print it or save it to your computer.  Some documents are ready to go once they have been filled out and signed, some document require a witness, while others might require a notary stamp.


Return to top.


LITERATURE
Gale eBooks
- In Library -- At Home
A Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.  Includes Contemporary Novelists, Contemporary Poets, Literary Newsmakers for Students, Novels For Students, Poetry for Students, Scribner Writers Online Series, Short Stories For Students, and Twayne's Authors Series.

Gale In Context: High School - In Library -- At Home
This database contains thousands of curriculum-targeted primary documents, biographies, topical essays, background information, critical analyses, full-text coverage of 680+ magazines, newspapers, 20,000+ photographs and illustrations, and hours of audio and video clips.

Gale Literature Resource Center - In Library -- At Home
Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of 130,000+ authors from every age and literary discipline.

Gale Literature: Twayne's Authors Series
- In Library -- At Home
Comprises 600 full-text titles from the Twayne's Literary Masters series, 200 each from Twayne's World, US, and English Authors.

Novels For Students - In Library -- At Home
This database includes introductory essays that place the novel in its historical and literary context, discussions of the novel's themes, plot, and characters, analysis of the novel's literary construction, age-appropriate critical commentary on the novel's significance for our times, a literary glossary, a timeline that juxtaposes literary and world events, illustrations, additional sources for further study, and more.

Poetry For Students - In Library -- At Home
This database includes an overview essay on the poem, analysis of the work's construction and form, an examination of key themes addressed in the poem, , a discussion of the historical and cultural context in which the poem was composed, selected criticism on the poem or poet, and a brief author biography.

Salem Critical Insights: Holocaust Literature - In Library -- At Home
From 1941 to 1945, the regime of Nazi Germany committed mass genocide against six million Jewish people in Europe, as well as five million Gypsies, homosexuals, disabled citizens, communists, and more. This volume takes an in-depth look at the literature that came out of The Holocaust, from non-fiction accounts like Anne Frank's The Diary of a Young Girl and Elie Wiesel's Night to fictionalized novels such as Sophie's Choice by William Styron.  Each essay is 2,500 to 5,000 words in length, and all essays conclude with a list of "Works Cited," along with endnotes.

Salem Literature - Critical Survey Of Long Fiction
- In Library -- At Home
Offers full-text access to the reference work Critical Survey Of Long FictionIncluded are 678 profiles of major writers of long fiction throughout history and the world, including analyses of their significant novels and novellas. Also available are discussions of individual novels in overview essays by time period, country, ethnicity, and genre, as well as other resource material.

Salem Literature - Critical Survey Of Short Fiction
- In Library -- At Home
Covers 625 writers organized into the following subsets: American Writers, British, Irish & Commonwealth Writers, European Writers, Topical Essays, and World Writers.

Salem Literature - Critical Survey Of Poetry - In Library -- At Home
Covers 845 poets organized into the following subsets: American Poets, British, Irish & Commonwealth Poets, European Poets, Topical Essays, and World Poets.

Salem Literature - Critical Survey Of Shakespeare's Plays - In Library -- At Home
Critical Survey of Shakespeare's Plays examines all 39 plays by Shakespeare, with an in-depth examination of each play's historical significance, literary technique, and contemporary alignment.  Included are essays on individual works as well as critical readings, analysis of form, technique, and syntax, and discussion of themes and motifs.

Salem Literature - Critical Survey Of Shakespeare's Sonnets - In Library -- At Home
Critical Survey of Shakespeare's Sonnets offers a collection of new essays on the Sonnets.  Each essay in The Critical Survey of Shakespeare’s Sonnets is devoted to a single sonnet and provides an in-depth critical analysis of the sonnet’s historical significance, literary technique and discusses its meaning to a contemporary audience.  Some of the themes discussed in these Sonnets include: beauty, eternity, time’s destructiveness, sexuality, gender, love, depression, sorrow, memory, alienation, grieving, love as slavery, seasons and age, time, absence, love as strength, eternal youth, fidelity, true love, lust, truth, and body vs. soul.

Salem Literature - Introduction To Literary Context - In Library -- At Home
Offers access to both the
American Post-Modernist Novels and American Short Fiction volumes.  American Post-Modernist Novels
sports essays on 37 of the notable Post-Modernist novels published since roughly 1960 by many of the most important male and female American writers of the latter 20th century.  American Short Fiction covers stories that are an amalgam of 19th- and 20th-century examples from the top authors producing short fiction in their respective times.

Salem Literature - Recommended Reading 600 Classics Reviewed - In Library -- At Home
Recommended Reading: 600 Classics Reviewed covers 600 noteworthy works that have endured the test of time and continue to hold the interest of general readers and literary specialists year after year. Each review approaches one work of literature - fiction, nonfiction, poetry, or drama - and introduces brief, ready-reference data for the user's convenience: title, author, date of first publication, type of work, and a brief abstract of the book's content or impact. Every 300-word review provides readers with an idea of the work's importance in the history of literature and critical thinking. All reviews are arranged alphabetically by book title, and the book concludes with both title and author indexes.

Shakespeare Collection: Featuring The Arden Shakespeare Collection Works
- In Library -- At Home
This database provides an extensive collection of authoritative materials supporting literary, textual, historical, and performance studies. Resources include the most recent Arden Shakespeare editions of the complete works, as well as editions and adaptations of Shakespeare's works, other works published during Shakespeare's time, prompt books, the Gordon Crosse Theatrical Diaries, criticism, reviews, images, and reference.

Short Stories For Students - In Library -- At Home
This database contains synopses of the story's plot, characters, and themes, a brief author biography, a discussion of the story's cultural and historical significance and excerpted criticism geared specifically towards the high school student.  Other resources include media adaptations of the story, discussion questions, and suggestions on what to read next.

Return to top.


NEWSPAPERS & PERIODICALS
ERIC - In Library -- At Home
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, this database provides extensive access to education-related literature.  ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books, and monographs.

Explora For Public Libraries - In Library -- At Home
Ensure student and educator success with EBSCO’s new interface for schools and public libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality.

Full Text Finder - In Library -- At Home
Formerly EBSCO A-to-Z, this database provides library staff and patrons with a single, comprehensive list of journals or magazines offered in our databases  Enter the publication title and this database will list the appropriate database with full-text, if it is available.  You will have to return to our database list to login and search in the appropriate database.    NOTE: You will need your 14-digit library card number for both In Library and At Home access.

Gale Academic OneFile - In Library -- At Home
Source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions; updated daily.

Gale Academic OneFile Select - In Library -- At Home
Resource for academic research includes scholarly journals and selected general interest titles in a wide variety of subjects.

Gale General OneFile - In Library -- At Home
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.  Updated daily.

Gale In Context: Middle School - In Library -- At Home
Created specifically for middle school students, this database combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Categories cover a range of the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, U.S. and world history, literature, and many more. This database also provides engaging reference, periodical, and multimedia content supporting national and state curriculum standards for grades 6 to 12 in language arts, social studies, and science. Middle school students will benefit from an interface that delivers a combination of the highly visual design and navigation preferred by younger users as well as the authoritative content and user-focused tool set needed to support middle school assignments and coursework.

Gale OneFile: Computer Science - In Library -- At Home
Provides access to business and technical publications in the computer, electronics, and telecommunications industries.

Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete - In Library -- At Home
This collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator--from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Educator's Reference Complete seeks to provide full text for titles in the Eric database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty--such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.

Gale OneFile:
News - In Library -- At Home
This full-text (back to 1996) database includes nearly 100 U.S. national, regional, and local newspapers including The New York Times and New York Post and more than 60 English language foreign newspapers.  It also includes Knight-Ridder Tribune News Service and Business News Wire.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts - In Library -- At Home
Indexes more than 500 core journals, more than 50 priority journals, and 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

New York State Newspapers- In Library -- At Home
A database of 28 major newspapers published in the state of New York, including The New York Times and The New York Post.

New York Times - In Library -- At Home

The New York Times is searchable through ProQuest.  Covers the years 1980 - present.  Most articles are full text. Updated daily.

Newsday
- In Library -- At Home

The Newsday database is now part of ProQuest.  Covers the years 1985 - present.  Most articles are full text. Updated daily.

NYS Historic Newspapers - In Library -- At Home
The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history.

ProQuest Coronavirus Research Database - In Library -- At Home
ProQuest built this database in response to the rapidly growing need for authoritative content related to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). The company is working together with institutions all over the world to offer support as they navigate through the coronavirus pandemic. This launch of the Coronavirus Research Database is the latest in a series of programs to help librarians, faculty and students.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers - The New York Times
- In Library -- At Home
This database offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Covers the years 1851-2013.  Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers - Newsday - In Library -- At Home
This database offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Covers the years 1940-1985.  Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

ProQuest The Wall Street Journal - In Library -- At Home
The Wall Street Journal is searchable through ProQuest.  Covers the years 1984 - present day.  Most articles are full text. Updated daily.

ProQuest U.S. Newsstream - In Library -- At Home
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. There is also access to the The Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal.  U.S. Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.

Teacher Reference Center - In Library -- At Home
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Return to top.


SCHOLARLY JOURNALS
ERIC - In Library -- At Home
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, this database provides extensive access to education-related literature.  ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books, and monographs.

Full Text Finder - In Library -- At Home
Formerly EBSCO A-to-Z, this database provides library staff and patrons with a single, comprehensive list of journals or magazines offered in our databases  Enter the publication title and this database will list the appropriate database with full-text, if it is available.  You will have to return to our database list to login and search in the appropriate database.  NOTE: Users must enter their 14-digit Library Barcode whether they are using in from home or in the library.

Gale Academic OneFile - In Library -- At Home
Source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions; updated daily.

Gale Academic OneFile Select - In Library -- At Home
Resource for academic research includes scholarly journals and selected general interest titles in a wide variety of subjects.

Gale General OneFile - In Library -- At Home
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.  Updated daily.

Return to top.


SCIENCE
Gale eBooks
- In Library -- At Home
A Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.  Includes American Men & Women of Science and Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography.

Gale In Context: Science - In Library -- At Home
Features a wide selection of videos, audios, podcasts, and images, Gale references, curriculum-aligned content to aid educators and enhance student research, as well as full-text articles from national and global newspapers, magazines and journals.

Return to top.


SPANISH LANGUAGE DATABASES
Britannica Escolar - In Library -- At Home
Discover the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. New features make it more valuable than ever for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.

Britannica Escolar Primaria - In Library -- At Home
Discover the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. New features make it more valuable than ever for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.

Gale OneFile: Informe Academico
- In Library -- At Home
A collection of Hispanic magazines with full text.  Covers business, health, technology, culture, current topics and other subjects.

ProCitizen US Naturalization Test Preparation - In Library -- At Home
Use this database to prepare for the civics, reading, and writing portions of the US Naturalization Test in Spanish.

Return to top.


TEST PREPARATION
ePermitTest - In Library -- At Home
Use this site to take a free online New York State DMV Permit Test practice exam.  Resources include Drivers Handbooks for all 50 states and examples of road signs and pavement markings and a free Driver's Education Program covering mandatory traffic laws.


Learning Express Library (Test Preparation)
-
In Library -- At Home
Provides courses and eBooks on job searching, resumes and cover letters, interviewing, and networking skills.  Take instantly scored Civil Service, licensing, certification, and aptitude practice tests and watch tutorials on popular software programs including Microsoft Word, Excel, Outlook, PowerPoint, and Access.  To gain access to the LearningExpressLibrary.com's test preparation materials you will need to register.  (Click on "NEW USER" if you are a first time visitor.)  When accessed from home, your username must be your 14-digit library card number. 
NOTE: Learning Express Library has upgraded their platform with new skill-building tutorials, test preparation, and career advancement resources with new educational content, career guidance, and advice from industry experts.

New York State DMV Permit Test - In Library -- At Home
Use this site to take a free online New York State DMV Permit Test practice exam.

ProCitizen US Naturalization Test Preparation - In Library -- At Home
Use this database to prepare for the civics, reading, and writing portions of the US Naturalization Test.

Tutor.com Adult Education And Career Center - In Library -- At Home
Live help is available from real tutors daily from 2pm - 10pm (some holidays excluded). Users can receive assistance with careers, job searches, writing résumés and cover letters. Help with citizenship exams, school subjects from GED prep to introductory college courses is also available. SkillsCenter Resource Library is open 24/7. In English and Spanish.

Return to top.

 

 
Oceanside Library - 30 Davison Avenue - Oceanside - NY 11572